Sandy Warner

Teaching with technology

Engaging with The Australian Professional Standards for Teachers

Leave a comment

The Professional Standards for teachers has been developed “for teachers to guide professional learning, practice and engagement, … The key elements of quality teaching are described in the Standards. They articulate what teachers are expected to know and be able to do at four career stages: Graduate, Proficient, Highly Accomplished and Lead.” (source Purpose of the Standards )

Recently I started to document my own teaching practice within the three domains of teaching; Professional Knowledge, Professional Practice and Professional Engagement. Initially, I found this process quite difficult as I do not see anything I do as anything more than what all good teachers do. And I am lucky to be surrounded by good teachers in my school!

However, I have found this process quite useful and I was suprised at how much I have achieved in my teaching career. The Standards at the career stages of Highly Accomplished and Lead will inform voluntary certification and I feel that I have started working towards this process.

I have now started to document my evidence and address each of the standards at the following page, Professional Standards. Mapping my progress on the Professional Learning Matrix has helped me not only track what I have documented so far but also helps me to plan what areas I need to focus on next. As you can see I still have a long way to go!

Mapping my documentation of the standards.

Mapping my documentation of the standards.

A good starting point for teachers is to engage with the AITSL Self Assessment Tool – click link below. This helps teachers to understand where their own teaching practice fits within the Standards and what areas they have strengths and weaknesses in. A great way to get feedback and guide future professional development and planning.

AITSL Self Assessment Tool

AITSL Self Assessment Tool

 

If you are thinking of applying for certification, my advice would be to start gathering evidence immediately. This may be in the form of lesson plans through to informal letters/ emails from parents, students and colleagues. More information about gathering evidence can be found on the DECD website.

Leave a Reply

